gstevensblog

Slice of Life 2013

Slice of Life Challenge: Reading Slump

on December 17, 2013

Slice of Life

 I’m participating in the Slice of Life Challenge, hosted by Stacey Shubitz and Ruth Ayres at Two Writing Teachers.

I’m in a reading slump right now and I need a good book to pull me out of it. For the past two months I have been busy reading lots of things—non-fiction professional books (Falling in Love with Close Reading, Reading in the Wild, Voice Lessons…to name a few), twitter/twitter chats, blogs, articles online. But sadly, no fiction.

Have you ever gone through a spell of reading really good books that leave you with a book hangover? Where the memory and the feel of the book linger way beyond the last page? To start a new book right away—especially one that might not measure up to the last one—would be sacrilege. So you wait for the feeling to pass and a new book to entice you.

Except that hasn’t happened.

To be honest, I have been immersed in the world of Edgar Allan Poe for the last two months. I am new to teaching 8th grade this year and we have been doing an intense author study of Poe and his work. Since this is all new to me I haven’t been reading much else since this study began. I am fascinated with Poe! His writing is so masterful and I have found the analysis of his writing to be exceptionally interesting to me and my students. (Not to mention the discovery of literary devices I never knew existed! Who knew anaphora and apostrophe were literary devices?) I am learning so much and I absolutely love it. But I am really missing being in the midst of a wonderful novel. It just doesn’t seem right, you know?

So we are wrapping up our last week before Christmas break and I would love to have a wonderful YA book to read in my downtime.

Any recommendations from my fellow ELA teachers?

Thanks for your help in pulling me out of my slump.

3 responses to “Slice of Life Challenge: Reading Slump

  1. T. D. Davis says:

    Since you’re on classic American authors, what about Faulkner’s “The Unvanquished?” Not an ELA teacher but thought I’d add my two cents anyway. 🙂

  2. Ramona says:

    I’m currently reading One Came Home (one of our Mock Newbery possibilities) and loving it! My favorite read so far was Counting by 7s.

  3. Lisa says:

    I thought there would be a giant list of recommendations!! I am sure many people are looking for good books to get them through the holidays. I just read “The Orenda” by Joseph Boyden. If you are Canadian you have likely heard of this book. FABULOUS! Historical fiction its finest. if you are looking for a good book that requires a lot less thinking and has a lot of emotional impact, try “Night Road” by Kristen Hannah. I was up all night crying because I just had to finish it!

Leave a Reply

