gstevensblog

Slice of Life 2013

Slice of Life 2013: April 16, 2013: Thinking of Boston

on April 16, 2013

Slice of Life

Slicing through the year on Tuesdays with Two Writing Teachers.

Here we are again. Glued to the television, watching the same horrific scenes repeating over and over.

This time it’s the Boston Marathon.

Many slicers have written about their sadness and horror over the senseless tragedy that took place yesterday during the Boston Marathon. Three dead already, 140+ injured, many of the injured serious/critical with several amputations. The crime scene has been described as something out of a war zone.

Today, teachers at my school murmured the thoughts that most of us have…we’re not safe anywhere anymore. We say this every time there’s a senseless tragedy like this one, and every time we live through another one it brings it all back. As time passes, we tend to put these tragedies out of our minds. We secretly hope that this one is the last. Nothing could possibly be worse than this.

We want to believe it can’t happen to us, it can’t happen in our town. But it’s simply not true. It can happen anywhere at any time. Of course deep down we all know this, but we don’t want to acknowledge it. It’s much too scary.

Naturally, as parents we want to protect our children. We want to do all that we can to keep that protective bubble around them and keep out danger and evil. So I wasn’t surprised that in the wake of this latest tragedy that my husband said, “I don’t want Katie to move to _____city!” Our daughter is in the process of applying for jobs in a major metropolitan city. In fact, she is on her way there right now for an interview. My husband is fearful for her as it seems that these big cities are often terrorist targets. While I can go there when I am operating out of fear, I gently reminded him that it wasn’t long ago that a madman terrorized an Amish one-room schoolhouse. If you aren’t safe in an Amish one-room schoolhouse, you aren’t safe anywhere.

At times like this I am so grateful for my faith. When I find myself operating out of fear I remind myself that fear is not from God, nor is it the way he intended us to live. Difficult as it is, I have to choose to move forward with faith and trust. It’s what I must do.

Tonight, my thoughts and prayers are with all of the people affected by this tragedy.

candle-light-live-wallpaper-10-2

2 responses to “Slice of Life 2013: April 16, 2013: Thinking of Boston

  1. Beth Rogers says:

    I love your thinking. It is my faith too that gets me through so much in this life as I worry about my children as well. May His peace be with us all.

  2. Cathy says:

    This is just beautiful. You have so eloquently stated what I think we all feel. Like you, I hope every time this is the last senseless tragedy, but it never is. My heart is saddened by the loss that families have endured in these situations, and I try not to spend much time dwelling on why these things happen. Like you, “I choose to move forward with faith and trust.”

    After Sandy Hook, I ran across this quote from Helen Keller, “”Although the world is full of suffering, it is also full of the overcoming of it.” In the wake these devastating tragedies I am touched by the stories of those who step forward and seem to know the right thing to do; the little heroes that somehow made a difference. It’s comforting to know there are still good people in this world who are ready to help.

    Cathy

Leave a Reply

