gstevensblog

Slice of Life 2013

Slice of Life 2013: The Slicing Continues…

on April 2, 2013

Slice of Life

Fellow SOLC writers: I don’t know about you, but for me it was very weird not writing my daily slice yesterday. While it was nice to have a day off, I felt oddly out of sorts. This morning when I got up, I realized that I wouldn’t have any comments to read on my post.

Bummed.

It’s funny how quickly something becomes a habit. They do say that if you want to develop a habit or break a bad one, you need to give yourself 30 days. I think that’s what happened. My daily writing was becoming ingrained into my life, and without it I felt kind of lost. Writing has a way of doing that to a person. While we may struggle to find the words some days, it always feels better to write, doesn’t it?

I am on spring break this week so I have time to think, reflect, and wonder about things. I know that I want to keep up with this blog I started for the Slice of Life Challenge. I am not sure how often I will post (although I hope it is often), but I do know that it means a lot to me to keep it up.

I am so glad that SOL continues for many of us. I love reading your blogs and admire your heart and your talent. You inspire me!

P.S. For regular readers of my blog, an update on Rosie. She had her surgery yesterday and she is doing great. You would never know that she just had surgery! She has managed to chew through her “cone” on the first night, so not sure what we will do next. Life with a dog 

5 responses to “Slice of Life 2013: The Slicing Continues…

  1. Glad to hear that Rosie is doing well. It’s true that 31 days a habit does make, and I did find myself checking my blog yesterday out of habit too. I hope you’re having a nice spring break. It snowed here today. 😦

    • gstevens1021 says:

      Thanks! Spring made a brief appearance here on Monday, with temperatures in the 70’s. The rest of this week it is dropping back into the 50’s with rain in the forecast, too. I guess it will be the perfect weather for me to curl up with my new book : )

  2. elsie says:

    There was a hole in my day too. It’s nice to have the pressure off of daily slicing, but you miss the contact with everyone.

  3. jhaworthoy says:

    Yes, it did feel strange yesterday….like something was missing. I am so glad we can continue this for the year….and it looks like many of us are writing! The comments do add to the posts! I, too, am so glad Rosie is doing well. No matter how minor a surgery is…it is still stressful to have a pet need surgery. Have a great spring break. Jackie http://familytrove.blogspot.com/

  4. cawoodco says:

    Spring break is a terrible time to be blogless, so I’m glad you decided to keep writing! With all of this “down time” I’m finding myself very reflective too!

Leave a Reply

