gstevensblog

Slice of Life 2013

Slice of Life 2013 Day 25: Slow to Transition

on March 25, 2013

Slice of Life

 

I’m participating in the March Slice of Life Challenge, hosted by Stacey Shubitz and Ruth Ayres at Two Writing Teachers.

“Slow to transition.”

That is what it should say next to my name.  Especially on Mondays. 

You see, I don’t do transitions well.  Weekend to weekday…school schedule to vacation schedule…Saturday to Sunday, I struggle to adjust to the change.

Yep, I’m slow to transition.

So, you can imagine that today being Monday I have been fighting the change all day. This resistance is particularly difficult if it’s been a good weekend.  I am slow to let go of the fun and good feelings I associate with my time off.

Oh, don’t get me wrong. I show up.

Physically.

Mentally, I’m in another sphere altogether.

Not surprising, this sounds very much like the students I teach. Many middle schoolers are notorious for having “difficulties with transitions,” as I’ve read on more student records that I care to admit.

Does that make me a middle schooler at heart?

I think it might. I suspect that I am not alone.

 

Signs Warning of Approaching Curve

2 responses to “Slice of Life 2013 Day 25: Slow to Transition

  1. I never thought of it that way, but I guess I’m slow to transition also. I know that my middle schoolers definitely are slow to transition. Monday mornings, we start with math and do a bit of work, but then I take time to let my students talk about their weekend and the week to come. I think it helps us all regroup, so to speak.
    Tuesday will be better, and you’re almost almost on break, right?

Leave a Reply

