gstevensblog

Slice of Life 2013

Slice of Life 2013 Day 23: There’s Something about Weddings

on March 23, 2013

Slice of Life

I’m participating in the March Slice of Life Challenge, hosted by Stacey Shubitz and Ruth Ayres at Two Writing Teachers.
Today I find myself thinking about weddings.

Katie, my daughter, is the bridesmaid in a wedding of a good friend of hers from church. This is her first wedding where she is a part of the bridal party. It reminds me of my bridesmaid experiences, the first being the wedding of my sister, Jane, when I was 15 years old.

When I was Katie’s age and a senior in college, two of my roommates got married within two weeks of our college graduation, and I was in both weddings. It was a crazy time for all of us as we were wrapping up our college lives and getting ready to move on to whatever life had to offer us at the time. I remember feeling completely adrift at the time. No job prospects, no boyfriend (my college boyfriend and I had broken up in February of our senior year), no plans. It was a scary time for me.

I envied the security my friends who were getting married seemed to have. No need to worry about the fact that they didn’t have teaching jobs yet (it was 1982 in New Jersey and teaching jobs were almost non-existent). They had husbands who would provide for them. At the time, they seemed to have life all figured out. I felt like I had no clue.

Several of Katie’s friends have gotten married in the past year. A few more will probably get engaged within the next few months. They are all so very young.

Seeing Katie’s friends getting married reminds me that my little girl is not so little anymore and it could (and will) be her one day walking down the aisle. So hard to believe.

Still, I know these weddings can be hard when you are young and feel like maybe you will never find that special person for yourself or maybe you will never find that perfect job. It seems like there is so much to figure out about life and you have no clue where to begin.

Weddings…they bring up so many mixed emotions, but they remind us that life is about new beginnings, about starting out with very little direction and a whole lot of hope.

9 responses to “Slice of Life 2013 Day 23: There’s Something about Weddings

  1. Your post reminds me of the old saying, “If I knew then what I know now” because it’s true. Weddings do ‘remind us about starting out with very little direction and a whole lot of hope.’ I hope your daughter’s friends have a very happy future together.

  2. Jaana says:

    Weddings really are a reminder of new direction and promises made. I am looking forward to my nephew’s wedding in a few weeks. My daughter hopefully still has some time before she walks down the aisle. (I think I need time to prepare for that occasion:))

  3. Tara says:

    It can be hard to see all of your friends get married- and you’re not! It’s also to remember that it’s not really worth it if it’s not the right person! I hope your daughter has fun at the weddings- and not much worry.

    • Gail Stevens says:

      Yes, so true. I know that she will enjoy herself at the wedding. She has (thankfully) not inherited all of my baggage, and is a much more self-assured woman than I was at her age. Maybe I did something right? (*smile*)

  4. Weddings bring out so much. I hope your daughter is able to enjoy her friends’ weddings without worrying too much about comparing herself to them.

    • Gail Stevens says:

      I agree. Hope is the overwhelming feeling I get at a wedding. So much promise and just that great feeling like you have your whole life ahead of you and anything is possible.

      Wish they could bottle and sell it!

  5. Weddings can bring such mixed emotions! I hope your daughter has fun at her friends’ weddings without too much anxiety about her own life. I really liked how you compared yourself at that age and your emotions to what you now are feeling. What a great reflection.

    • Gail Stevens says:

      The mixed emotions was what I was trying to capture in my post. I just feel for her at this critical time in her life as the world is both exciting and terrifying at the same time. So much possibility, yes, but so many choices to make and the pressure to make the right ones can be overwhelming.

      Still, the hope that weddings bring can be balm for the soul.

      Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

