gstevensblog

Slice of Life 2013

Slice of Life 2013 Day 22: Change in Plans

on March 22, 2013

Slice of Life
I’m participating in the March Slice of Life Challenge, hosted by Stacey Shubitz and Ruth Ayres at Two Writing Teachers.

This has been a long week. We don’t start our Spring Break until next Thursday, so we have three more school days to go before we are set free. It is so close, yet so far.

I was very much looking forward to my Spring Break. Not because I am going anywhere special, but just to have some down time. Last year during break I was in the process of writing new curriculum for our county and spent eight to ten hours a day writing every day of break. I was extremely productive, but it wasn’t relaxing to say the least.

This year I thought I would just enjoy being off, spend more time reading and writing, as well as get together with friends for lunch and long walks in the park. Since I have a young pup, I thought we could spend some more time at the dog park and go for walks together.

Looks like that’s not going to happen.

Took Rosie to the vet tonight and she recommended that we have her spayed as soon as possible. Seems all of her adult teeth have come in and the vet is concerned that she could go into heat at any time. She recommended that we spay her at our earliest convenience.

Since we both work, using my vacation time to do this makes sense. Rosie will be on house arrest for a week—no playing, no jumping, no walks, no running: no fun. She must also wear a “cone” for a week.

This should be interesting.

I was told we need to “keep her calm” and not to let her get “excited.”

Rosie is a five-month-old golden retriever.

If you look that up in the dictionary, I am pretty sure it will say “always excited” next to the definition.

Anyway, I have decided to have her spayed on April 1st. I will be home all that week and can tend to her needs. It’s not the spring break I was looking forward to, but it seems like the best for Ro.

Who knows? Maybe she will let me read to her.

5 responses to “Slice of Life 2013 Day 22: Change in Plans

  1. Plans do change. At least your puppy will be in good hands with you home from break. Maybe you can read to her while she recovers.

    • gstevens1021 says:

      True! I am glad that I can be home to keep an eye on her while she recovers. The vet already warned us that she will probably be energetic even the day of surgery! I do recall that our first golden retriever that we had many years ago was her old self fairly soon after surgery. We were amazed that she could bounce back so quickly (not like this old dog!).

      Praying for patience!

  2. If I had a cone on my head, I’d want someone to read to me! I hope you take some time for yourself and you enjoy your break (even with the changed itinerary).

  3. Wilcox Carol says:

    “Rosie is a five-month-old golden retriever. If you look that up in the dictionary, I am pretty sure it will say “always excited” next to the definition.” YEP! Perfect definition! Love, love, love those golden retrievers! Even ones with cones on their heads! Maybe we should pray for rain or a blizzard, so she won’t feel like she needs to be outside playing all the time!

    • gstevens1021 says:

      Thanks for the encouragment! Although, Rosie loves rain, too. (Puddles!)

      I am pretty sure Rosie with a cone on her head will provide us with lots of funny stories to tell for a while : )

Leave a Reply

