gstevensblog

Slice of Life 2013

Slice of Life 2013 Day 20: My March Madness

on March 20, 2013

march madness

Image 

I’m participating in the March Slice of Life Challenge, hosted by Stacey Shubitz and Ruth Ayres at Two Writing Teachers.

It was inevitable.

I have been living in North Carolina for 20 years now, and I have yet to succumb to “March Madness.”

Yes, it is possible to withstand the college basketball mania that is a pretty much a fact of life in these parts.

I have mostly been mildly interested in what happens on the court, but I emphasize mildly. I didn’t go to college here, so I don’t have an allegiance to any one particular team, and my family is ABC (Anyone But Carolina).

My husband and daughter are big Duke fans. They watch with interest whenever Duke plays, my daughter live tweeting the game with her dad. They have a blast!

If I had to root for any team from our town, I would pull for NC State. I do have some history there as that is where I attended the Capital Area Writing Project many years ago. My love for all things NWP spills over onto NC State, so I will wear the red and black and support the “wolfpack” when forced to choose (and believe me, around here people will pin you down to know whose team you’re cheering for).

College Basketball is serious business around here.

So, with the Duke fans in my house all abuzz about the March Madness brackets and the upcoming games, I did something tonight that I’ve never done before.

I filled out my very own bracket.

Yes, sports fans, even I have gotten caught up in the madness.

I think I just might like it, too.

Oh, and in case you’re interested:  I picked Duke to win it all.

 

5 responses to “Slice of Life 2013 Day 20: My March Madness

  1. I usually pick Duke or UNC, but I wasn’t feeling it this year. This year I went with Louisville.

    Good luck with your bracket!

  2. Kate Stevens says:

    You’re darn right you picked Duke!

  3. I started participating with the whole fill out a bracket stuff last year and it was fun even though I was last place in my group. Maybe this year will go better? 🙂

    • Gail Stevens says:

      We can only hope!

      My husband is keeping the score for us and he tells me I did great yesterday with a few underdog wins (love an underdog!), but I am not holding my breath.

      Good luck!

Leave a Reply

