gstevensblog

Slice of Life 2013

Slice of Life 2013 Day 15: The Best Kind of Slice

on March 15, 2013

Image

I’m participating in the March Slice of Life Challenge, hosted by Stacey Shubitz and Ruth Ayres at  Two Writing Teachers.

Okay, I have something to admit.

Ever since I first heard of the “Slice of Life Challenge,” my first thought has been of pizza.

Yes, pizza.

You see, when I hear the word “slice,” my immediate word association is “pizza.”

Why? I don’t know except that I am originally from New Jersey where a “slice” means one thing:  a slice of pizza. But not just any old pizza. We’re talking New York style, thin crust, “foldable” pizza, oozing with cheese and loaded down with toppings of your choice (for me, veggie; for the hubby and daughter, pep).

Heaven on earth.

I decided to share my favorite slice with you, my fellow slicers, so that you could experience (albeit vicariously) the highlight of my Friday night experience:  Cozzi’s pizza night!

Every Friday (with very few exceptions, and you can ask my husband—he will verify (grudgingly) we have pizza night.  After a long week of school, I look forward to a night where I don’t have to cook and I can just relax and enjoy my meal. We have had this ritual for as long as I can remember.

My wonderful husband orders the pie and picks it up on his way home (this adds to the ease of my Friday nights!).

With a cold beer or glass of wine, our Friday night slice is one of the highlights of our week.  

This slice symbolizes the start of our weekend. Anything is possible!

So, in honor of my first Friday night slice, I share with you my very own “slice” of life:

 

 

cozzi's box

pizza

3 responses to “Slice of Life 2013 Day 15: The Best Kind of Slice

  1. Ramona says:

    We celebrate our month of slicing in my classroom with a pizza party and slices of pie! Love the photos.

Leave a Reply

