gstevensblog

Slice of Life 2013

Slice of Life 2013 Day 14: Tight Pants Day

on March 14, 2013

 

I’m participating in the March Slice of Life Challenge, hosted by Stacey Shubitz and Ruth Ayres at  Two Writing Teachers.

*Warning: This post contains content of sensitive nature. Read at your own risk.*

I hate tight clothes.

I mean, I really hate them.  I have never been one to pour myself into my clothing just to see how tight I could get away with. No, that’s not me. (Okay, well, I do confess that while I was in college I did have to lie down on my bed to zip my Calvin Klein jeans…but that was in college. Does that still count?)

I am a woman of comfort. Give me loose clothing or give me death!

If I had my druthers, I would be in sweat pants, sweatshirts, and sneakers 24/7. That’s me. Not glamorous, sexy, or fashionable.

Comfortable.

Of course I can’t dress like that for school so I do dress professionally, but even those clothes have “give” and don’t constrict my movement.

Usually.

Today was one of those days.

The dreaded “Tight Pants Day.” Everybody has them. No one likes them. Ugh!

I knew when I put them on, it would be a tortuous day of uncomfortableness, coupled with self-loathing, recrimination, and doubt.

I was right.

Don’t you just hate tight pants days?

Now, I am a woman of a “certain age” and I am coming to terms with this lovely stage of life. Raging hormones, insomnia, mood swings, irritability…this I have come to know intimately.

But I draw the line at tight pants.

These pants were not tight last week when I wore them. Could I have gotten that much fatter in one week? Really?  

*Sigh*

Can I get a witness?

I just want to feel like me again. Like I used to.

Well, usually.

3 responses to “Slice of Life 2013 Day 14: Tight Pants Day

  1. I say, throw the tight pants away! Then there will be no more tight pants days and you will be comfortable every day. Life is too short to be wasted on tight pants days. 🙂

  2. mag says:

    Who doesn’t have two, or even three sets of pants? Some of mine have lingered in the closet or years!

Leave a Reply

