gstevensblog

Slice of Life 2013

Slice of Life 2013 Day 13: Is Your Body “Spring Break” Ready?

on March 13, 2013

>Slice of Life

Oy!

Our 7th graders are wide open right now. Spring Break is two weeks from now (yes, I know, TWO WEEKS!) but they are already there. All learning that is taking place is purely accidental. Socialization is the prime activity and attention spans are gnat-like, if existent at all.

What’s a teacher to do?

Even though I did not feel like it, I dragged this tired, old body to the gym for a Body Pump class. I really wanted to just go home, but I was meeting a friend and Lord knows I needed the workout.
Our instructor today was Steven, a 20ish body-builder type, with an orange-spray tan and boundless energy. He made a point of using the new and improved “22-pound” weights, just to up his game. He encouraged us to use them “in case you need to up your weights.”

Um, no thanks.

My friend, Debbie, and I exchanged our usual snarky comments as he urged us to push ourselves to the limit (I didn’t have the heart to tell him that I had already been pushed to the limit today, thank you, and I really just wanted to get through this workout and go home.) But we pressed on.

The part that really got us today, though, was Steven’s constant shouting at us, “You need to get that body “Spring Break” ready!”

Yeah, Steven, that ship has sailed. Time to move on.

We did make it through the workout (even though he insisted we do what felt like a million push-ups).

Now that I think about it, my body is spring break ready…ready for a respite, some renewal, some great reading time, long walks with my Rosie, and some great food and wine with friends and family.

Until then, our daughter is home on what will be her last spring break as a college student, so we made a special dinner tonight. Feast your eyes on our scrumptious dinner (Blackened Fish Tacos).

blackened fish tacos
Let me know if you want the recipe.

3 responses to “Slice of Life 2013 Day 13: Is Your Body “Spring Break” Ready?

  1. Beth Rogers says:

    I love your take on a spring break body! It’s been way too long since I have been to the gym and I am feeling less than enthusiastic about spring/summer clothes. I am very ready for spring break though…in terms of rest and renewal. Glad you are having special times with your daughter.

  2. Since I live in a very small village, my options for going to the ‘gym’ are few. I recently found out that someone is doing a ‘boot camp’ down the street from me at a church. Boot camp? Scary! You never know, though. I just might try it. I laughed throughout your slice at your responses to Steven and I nodded as I read your description of the state of your 7th graders 2 weeks before break. Yup! They’re already gone. Enjoy your daughter’s visit. I just want to add how glad I am that you’re slicing this year. What an enjoyable way to get to know you.

    • Gail Stevens says:

      Thanks so much for your comments, Rhonda.

      As for the “slicing” this year, I have to thank you for the encouragement. I saw that you and a few other twitter folks were doing it and I thought why not? Scary at first but I have found it to be quite energizing as well. It is a great way to get to know other people, too.

      I’ve so enjoyed reading your posts as well.

      As for your “boot camp” challenge, I say give it a try! They have it at my gym but I haven’t tried it (it meets at 6:00am—um, no thanks!). Several of the people I know from the gym who have done it say it “kicks your a.. but worth it!”

      Here’s to 17 more days of slicing!

Leave a Reply

