gstevensblog

Slice of Life 2013

Slice of Life Day 9: Not So Empty Nest

on March 9, 2013

Slice of Life

Slice of Life 2013 Day 9: Not So Empty Nest

I’m participating in the March Slice of Life Challenge, hosted by Stacey Shubitz and Ruth Ayres at Two Writing Teachers

Right before Christmas, my husband and I made the what some might call crazy decision to bring a puppy into our newly empty nest. Our kids have been mostly gone (one has graduated from college and the other is soon to graduate in May), and our last living pet passed away in September. We were child-free and pet-free for a few months.

But something was missing.

Having been pet owners for 25 of our 26 years of marriage, my husband and I were not quite sure what to make of our pet-free status. On one hand it was liberating. No litter box to clean (hallelujah!) and no need to be home early to let the dog out. We were carefree.

But something was missing.

Not long after Sassy’s passing, I started to entertain dangerous thoughts. What if we got another dog? Maybe a puppy? Puppies are so cute and who couldn’t love them? My need to nurture someone, something started to overtake me.

I made the fatal mistake of expressing these thoughts to my daughter.

That’s all it took.

Before I knew what was happening, Rosie, was in our lives and the empty-nest world I was slowly growing accustomed to was over.

We had a toddler again!

Rosie’s presence has forever changed our lives. A golden retriever, her love and need for constant human attention drives her every move. She is my shadow. Wherever I am, Rosie isn’t far behind.

Trying to write these “slices” is not easy with Rosie around. She doesn’t like when I am on the computer and she wants my attention. (As I type this, she is in the kitchen grabbing something I don’t want her to have and chewing on it…)

Still, I I love her.

While some have questioned our decision to take on a puppy at this stage of our lives, we have discovered that she was just what we needed.

Today we met our friends at the local dog park and introduced our “girls” to each other. The joy we have in watching them play is indescribable and so unexpected for me. When I am with Rosie I am in the moment, able to experience joy in ways I haven’t before. She has introduced me to new friends and opened up a whole new world of connections. Who knew?

Something was missing.

Rosie at dog park

Rosie.

 

 

7 responses to “Slice of Life Day 9: Not So Empty Nest

  1. Our pets add so much to our lives. We’ve had an empty nest for some time now, but we have our cat and we love her. I’m so glad you have Rosie.

  2. Rosie says:

    Woof!!

  3. Rachel Z says:

    Welcome to the family, Rosie!

  4. Lori Kidder says:

    We have an almost empty nest. One of our three cats still survives. We probably will get another dog when one of us retires.

  5. My husband and I are recent “empty nesters” too. We still have a cat, but she basically sleeps the day away. Every once in awhile, we think about getting another dog. Sometimes it’s easy to say, “No.” Then there are the times that it’s a bit more tempting. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

